Simply Baroque (CD)

Sony Classical
Current Stock:
Yo-Yo Ma, Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra, Ton Koopman

Gramophone Classical Music Guide

"This appealing compilation is extremely imaginative: nine movements from Bach sensitively arranged for cello and chamber orchestra, plus an attractive pair of Boccherini cello concertos. Yo-Yo Ma's Stradivarius was altered for the occasion by luthier Charles Beare, and Ma uses a Baroque bow. As superior 'light' listening goes, it's difficult to think of a happier 70 minutes' worth. It also provides an ideal 'soft-option' introduction to the sound of period instruments. The St Matthew Passion's 'Erbarme dich' becomes a cleverly worked duet for violin and cello, always flowing and discreet, aided by responsive strings and a tactile lute continuo.

Ton Koopman's harpsichord brushes Jesu Joy of Man's Desiring into action with a flourish, answered by a mellifluous mix of solo cello, strings and winds. Bassoon and cello join forces for a swaggering 'Lass mein Herz die Münze sein', before the brief chorale 'Dein Blut, der edle Saft'. Last comes the inevitable 'Air' from the Third Orchestral Suite, tellingly arranged (as a duet for cellos) and superbly played. In fact, Koopman's 'second' cello – his lead cellist Jaap ter Linden – is every bit as eloquent as the star act. Listening to the two Boccherini works on this marvellous CD reminds you again of Ma's uncanny technical facility, at once elegant and unselfconsciously virtuosic. Ton Koopman provides the cadenzas and the performances are pure delight."

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


  • Bach, J S: Cantata BWV136 'Erforsche mich, Gott, und erfahre mein Herz'
  • Bach, J S: Cantata BWV147 'Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben': Jesu, bleibet meine Freude
  • Bach, J S: Cantata BWV163 'Nur jedem das Seine'
  • Bach, J S: Cantata BWV167 'Ihr Menschen, rühmet Gottes Liebe'
  • Bach, J S: Chorale Prelude BWV639 'Ich ruf' zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ'
  • Bach, J S: Chorale Prelude BWV650 'Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel herunter'
  • Bach, J S: Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV1068
  • Bach, J S: Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV1068: Air ('Air on a G String')
  • Bach, J S: St Matthew Passion, BWV244: Erbarme dich
  • Boccherini: Cello Concerto No. 5 in D major, G478
  • Boccherini: Cello Concerto No. 7 in G major, G480