Kantaten (CD)

Current Stock:
Vox Luminis, Lionel Meunier

Having recorded the complete motets composed by the ancestors of Johann Sebastian Bach (RIC 347), Vox Luminis now tackles their complete spiritual concerts and sacred cantatas, in which the instruments – particularly the strings – play a highly important role.  In the cantata for the Feast of St Michael the Archangel by Johann Christoph Bach, trumpets and drums are enlisted to evoke the battle of the archangels in heaven. To round off this programme, Vox Luminis presents the cantata Christ lag in Todesbanden by Johann Sebastian Bach, in its original version dating from his Arnstadt period, containing copious elements linking it to the music of his forebears.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

The Classical Music Collector

"The Ricercar label can always be relied upon to provide authentic and compelling recordings of early music, in this case the 17th Century German Baroque. On this latest release ensemble Vox Luminis apply themselves to the spiritual concerts and sacred cantatas of JS Bach’s ancestors, in this instance, Heinrich (1615-92), Johann Christoph (1642-1703), and Johann Michael Bach (1648-94). The music is of a uniform sobriety and dignity, and the performances are exemplary. Completing the CD is a performance of the first version of JS Bach’s cantata BWV4, Christ lag in Todesbanden." - Chris Dench


Johann Christoph Bach

  • 1. Die Furcht des Herren

Heinrich Bach

  • 2. "Ich danke dir Gott"

Johann Michael Bach

  • 3. Herr, der König freuet sich

Johann Christoph Bach

  • 4. Herr, wende dich und sei mir gnädig

Johann Sebastian Bach
Christ lag in Todesbanden, BWV 4:

  • 5. I. Sinfonia
  • 6. II. Christ lag in Todesbanden
  • 7. III. Den Tod niemand zwingen kunnt 
  • 8. IV. Jesus Christus, Gottes Sohn 
  • 9. V. Es war ein wunderlicher Krieg
  • 10. VI. Hie ist das rechte Osterlamm
  • 11. VII. So feiern wir das hohe Fest 
  • 12. VIII. Wie essen und wir leben wohl 

Johann Christoph Bach

  • 13. Es erhub sich ein Streit