Dido & Aeneazz (SACD)

Current Stock:
Eric Vloeimans, Calefax

Love is a rollercoaster, and so is this swinging new take on Virgil's classical tragedy. Dido & Aeneazz is a recomposition of Henry Purcell's Dido and Aeneas by Raaf Hekkema, combined with newly-composed music arranged by Eric Vloeimans. The album showcases the congenial collaboration between the versatile reed players of Calefax and renowned trumpet player Eric Vloeimans. Dido & Aeneazz invites the listener to join a musical journey that virtuously flows from the baroque original to jazz, calypso and klezmer, and back.

Acclaimed in the Netherlands and abroad, the members of Calefax arguably invented a completely new genre: the reed quintet.

After their successful PENTATONE debut with Hidden Gems, these gentlemen add yet another treasure to their discography.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


  1. Overture
  2. Peace and I are strangers grown
  3. Fear no danger; Cupid has thrown the dart
  4. A splendid time together
  5. The triumphs of love
  6. Love dance
  7. The witches
  8. Ritornel
  9. The sailors
  10. Horizon
  11. Sailors & witches
  12. Triumphant witches
  13. Crazy witches
  14. Great minds against themselves conspire
  15. Dido’s lament
  16. With drooping wings