Passio Iberica (CD)

Pan Classics
Current Stock:
Divino Sospiro, Massimo Mazzeo

Over the centuries, the religious traditions of the Holy Week have given rise to some of the most extraordinary works in the his tory of music, dedicated both to the liturgy and to devotional practices of specific geographical and cultural contexts. Despite increasing secularization at the end of the 18th Century, the Holy Week ceremonies, with a strong musical component, remained an important event in the spiritual, social and cultural life of Southern Europe.

‘Passio Iberica’ is an invitation to spirituality and reflection as a counterpoint to the fevered contemporary world. Two rare masterpieces are offered here, with two composers, both of Iberian origin, each with a fierce national (Spanish and Portuguese) identity, dedicated with deep devotion to Christ’s Calvary and to Mary’s sorrow at the feet of the cross.

Siete palabras de Cristo en la cruz, by Francisco Javier García Fajer (1730-1809) and the Stabat mater, by José Joaquim dos Santos (1747-1801) evince the personal mark of these composers as well as their knowledge of the tradition and compositional models in vogue at the time, both in the Iberian Peninsula and in Europe.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Fajer: 7 Palabras de Cristo en la cruz
1. Introducción "Al calvário almas llegad"
2. 1a palabra "Pues que fui vuestro enemigo"
3. 2a palabra "Reverente el buen ladrón"
4. 3a palabra "Jesús en su testamento"
5. 4a palabra "Desamparado se ve"
6. 5a palabra "Sed disse Cristo que tiene"
7. 6a palabra "Con voz quebrada mi Dios"
8. 7a palabra "A su Eterno Padre ya Aria"

José Joaquin dos Santos: Stabat mater
1. Stabat mater dolorosa
2. Cuius animam gementem
3. O quam tristis et afflicta
4. Quis est homo qui non fleret
5. Vidit suum dulcem natum
6. Fac ut ardeat cor meum
7. Sancta mater, istud agas
8. Juxta crucem tecum stare
9. Fac ut portem Christi mortem
10. Fac me plagis vulnerary
11. Quando corpus morietur
12. Amen