Bartók: Violin Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 (CD)

Current Stock:
Christian Tetzlaff, Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Hannu Lintu

Star violinist Christian Tetzlaff performs Béla Bartók’s (1881–1945) two masterpieces in a new recording with Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Hannu Lintu. This recording continues both artists’ highly successful series of recordings on Ondine.

Christian Tetzlaff is considered one of the world’s leading international violinists and maintains a most extensive performing schedule. Musical America named him ‘Instrumentalist of the Year’ in 2005 and his recording of the violin concertos by Mendelssohn and Schumann, released on Ondine in 2011 (ODE11952), received the ‘Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik’. Gramophone Magazine was choosing the recording of the Schumann Violin Sonatas with Lars Vogt (ODE12052) as ‘Disc of the Month’ in January 2014. In addition, in 2015 ICMA awarded Christian Tetzlaff as the ‘Artist of the Year’. His recordings on Ondine with Brahms’ Trios (ODE12712D) and Violin Concertos by Dvorák and Suk (1279-5) released in 2015 and 2016 earned GRAMMY nominations.

Recordings by the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra under Hannu Lintu on Ondine have gathered excellent reviews in the international press. Their most recent release with orchestral works and songs by Jean Sibelius (ODE12895) won an ICMA Award in January 2018. The same album was also Editor’s Choice in Gramophone Magazine and Orchestral Choice in the BBC Music Magazine.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


BÉLA BARTÓK (1881–1945)

Violin Concerto No. 2, Sz. 112
1 I. Allegro non troppo 
2 II. Andante tranquillo 
3 III. Allegro molto 

Violin Concerto No. 1, Sz. 36 
4 I. Andante sostenuto 
5 II. Allegro giocoso