Frederick Ashton: The Dream, Symphonic Variations, Marguerite and Armand (Blu-ray)

Opus Arte
Current Stock:
The Royal Ballet, Emmanuel Plasson

This title is also available on DVD. Click here to view in our online store.

Three contrasting ballets by The Royal Ballet’s Founder Choreographer Frederick Ashton: The Dream (1964) is an enchanting adaptation of Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream to music by Mendelssohn.

Symphonic Variations (1946) is an early Ashton masterpiece, and a breathtaking, abstract work on the beauty of pure movement. Marguerite and Armand (1963), here danced by former Royal Ballet Principal Zenaida Yanowsky and Guest Artist Roberto Bolle, is a tragic love story of great lyric beauty. The Orchestra of the Royal Opera House is conducted by Emmanuel Plasson.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


The Dream
Akane Takada
Steven McRae

Symphonic Variations
Marianela Nuñez
Vadim Muntagirov

Marguerite and Armand
Zenaida Yanowsky
Roberto Bolle

The Royal Ballet, Emmanuel Plasson