Current - Nexas Quartet (CD)

Current Stock:
Nexas Quartet

'Current' is the culmination of years of hard work and dedication from the ensemble and is a reflection of their collaborations with leading Australian composers.

Featuring music from national treasures Matthew Hindson, Elena Kats-Chernin, Matthew Orlovich, Daniel Rojas and Lachlan Skipworth this recording demonstrates the versatility of Nexas and their desire to promote unique Australian compositional voices.

Based in Sydney, the Nexas Quartet is at the forefront of Australian chamber music. The ensemble is focused on promoting the musical diversity of the saxophone by showcasing its versatility and ability to cross genres.

Nexas Quartet offers a twist as a refreshing alternative to the generic string quartet format, with an extensive and diverse repertoire ranging from transcriptions, standard and contemporary repertoire, to collaborations with theatre companies as well as premiering and commissioning new works that reflects their artistic direction.
Since 2002, Nexas Quartet has performed extensively throughout Australia and premiered numerous Australian new works domestically and internationallyat the World Saxophone Congress in Scotland and France.

In 2013 Nexas Quartet performed at the prestigious APRA Awards as well as at the heart of Australia in Uluru for the Darwin Symphony Orchestra.
Sell out concerts have been the hallmark of Nexas Quartet's Concert Series since 2014, presenting exciting and diverse programs with some of Australia’s finest artists including: Gerard Willems AM (pianist), Daniel Rojas (pianist), Nicky Crayson (jazz vocalist), David Theak (jazz saxophonist and bandleader), Frank Celata (SSO clarinettist) and Peter Coleman‚ÄźWright OA (opera singer). Other collaborations include the Melbourne Theatre Company’s production of “Jumpy” with composer and sound artist Drew Crawford and the premiere of Matthew Hindson and Cyrus Meurant’s “Romeo and Juliet", commissioned by the National College of Dance.

- - - - - 


Elena Kats-Chernin: From Anna Magdalena's Notebook

01. Polonaise 1'56
02. Musette 2'48
03. Aria 3'40
04. Minuet 2'48
05. Polonaise 1'51
06. Minuet 1'59

Daniel Rojas

07. Nostalgia 3'24

Matthew Orlovich: Slipstream

08. Allegro, alla fanfara 3'27
09. Con ritmo 3'24
10. Sentirsi bene 3'43

Matthew Hindson: Scenes from Romeo and Juliet

11. Overture 2'29
12. Juliet 3'06
13. Romeo 2'17
14. Juliet and Romeo's Love Scene 7'10
15. Duel 5'32
16. The Death of Romeo and Juliet 5'29

Lachlan Skipworth

17. Dark Nebulae 9'50

Total Time 64'56

- - - - -