Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky (DVD)

Current Stock:

And so a passionate, intense love affair between two creative giants begins...

Paris 1913, Coco Chanel is devoted to her work and madly in love with the handsome and very wealthy Arthur "Boy" Capel. At the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Igor Stravinsky premieres his Rite of Spring. Coco attends the premiere and is mesmerised. But the revolutionary work is too modern, too radical: the enraged audience boos and jeers. A near-riot ensues. Stravinsky is inconsolable. 
7 years later. Now rich, respected and successful, Coco is devastated by Boy Capel?s death. She meets Stravinsky again - now penniless refugee living in exile in Paris after the Russian Revolution, The attraction between them is immediate and electric. Coco offers Stravinsky the use of her new villa in Garches, so that he will be able to work, and he moves in straight away, with his children and consumptive wife. And so a passionate, intense love affair between two creative giants begins.

"A fabulous French movie about a complicated love affair. Ooh laa laa... The film is absolutely beautiful... stunning locations, gorgeous costumes... If you are into music and or fashion, you will be absolutely delirious."Richard Wilkins, TODAY SHOW - 4 STARS

"A sumptuous re-creation of '20s France and the mad affair between two of the century's most iconic figures... Stravinsky's immortal music richly abetted by Gabriel Yared's original score and exquisite sets from designer Marie-Helene Sulmoni are a movie unto themselves. The costumes credited to Chattoune & Fab plus several original garments and accessories from the Chanel collection and a Karl Lagerfeld dress designed for the movie make the film a Deco delight... There are so many guilty pleasures here... The passions feel real, the roles are fully inhabited and the art speaks for itself."THE HOLLYWOOD REPORTER

"Visually all you could wish for."DAVID STRATTON, AT THE MOVIES

MA - Sex scenes
Release Date: 18/08/2010
Languages: French, Russian,
Subtitles: English
Number of Discs: 1
Runtime: 118.0 mins
Format: DVD
Barcode: 9322225083936
Catalogue Number: MMA8039
Copyright: © 2009 Eurowide Film Productions

DVD Special Features

  • Exclusive Australian interview with director Jan Kounen
  • Deleted scenes
  • The Making Of Coco & Igor
  • Theatrical trailer