The Garden Party (CD)

Move Records
Current Stock:
The Marais Project

The Marais Project’s latest offering, The Garden Party, has a festive anniversary flavour and includes several world premieres, not the least of which is the Eriksson-penned title track.

Early music ensemble, The Marais Project, has never followed a predictable path. Their recorded output over the past 20 years has been impressive and varied: six CDs covering a gamut of repertoire from the French and Swedish baroque to folk song and jazz. In addition, Director Jenny Eriksson has commissioned and premiered some 25 new Australian compositions creating a whole new repertoire for her instrument, the viola da gamba.

Eriksson's opening track, The Garden Party, is a cheeky take on Marin Marais Feste Champêtre, one of his most celebrated works. There is a superb Australian-first arrangement of a Marais suite for viola da gamba and piano accordion by Emily-Rose Šárkova. As well as playing the piano accordion Šárkova arranged the two spirited South American songs which close the recording.

Woven between the new repertoire, which makes up more than 50% of the track list, Eriksson and highly-regarded producer Llew Kiek have included selected music from several previous CDs, each of which was released on the Move label. The earlier material spans from the French baroque to Swedish folk song and serves to illustrate the broad range of musical styles and cultures the group embraces . Brilliantly mixed by long-term sound engineer, Chris Doherty, the CD is mastering by Michael Lynch.

“The Garden Party summarises our first twenty years and provides a launching pad for the years to come”, Eriksson commented. “I hope listeners will love the recording: we had a ball making it!”

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


"The Garden Party is a winning collection of 9 pieces with 19 tracks amounting to just under an hour of music. The mood is sometimes gentle, sometimes brimming with the jollity of the masque and sometimes full of medieval melancholy, with touches of jazz, swing and Latino idioms. It includes two world premiere recordings, The Garden Party (Eriksson) and the Suite in E minor, Pièces de viole, 4è livre by Marin Marais, arranged by Šárkova. Perhaps their best recording yet. Ravishing!" — Shamistha de Soysa, SoundsLikeSydney

"Jennifer Eriksson has updated the image and profile of her instrument  by continuously updating it in performance and ground-breaking recordings of which The Garden Party is yet one more fine example. ... Congratulations to The Marais Project for not only this entertaining CD but for all its live and recorded performances which have been educating Australia and beyond in the French Baroque and its instruments in such a fresh and innovative way over the last twenty years." - Paul Nolan, Sydney Arts Guide

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


1. The Garden Party - Jennifer Eriksson

Suite in E minor, Pièces de viole, 4 livre, Paris 1717 - Marin Marais
2. Rondeau Paÿsan
3. Sarabande
4. La Matelotte
5. La Biscayenne

6. O salutaris hostia - Pierre Bouteiller

Suite No. 2 in G minor, Pièces en Trio, Paris 1692 - Marin Marais
7. Prelude
8. Rondeau
9. Plainte
10. Petite Passacaille

11. J'avois crû - Anonymous

Suite in G Minor, Pièces de violes, 5 livre, Paris 1725 - Marin Marais
12. Rondeau louré
13. Allemande La Marianne
14. Sarabande
15. Menuet
16. La Georgienne dite la Maupertuy

17. Om sommaren sköna In beautiful summer - Traditional

18. La Anunciación - Ariel Ramirez

19. De Fiesta en Fiesta - Carlos Carabajal