Berlioz Odyssey - The Complete Sir Colin Davis Recordings (6SACD+10CD)

LSO Live
Current Stock:
Sir Colin Davis, London Symphony Orchestra

Colin Davis was internationally recognised as the foremost Berlioz interpreter of his time, and the recordings he made with the London Symphony Orchestra stand as some of the greatest accounts of the composer’s work ever recorded.

This 16 disc box set brings together all of Davis’ iconic Berlioz recordings made for LSO Live, from celebrated interpretations of popular orchestral works to landmark opera recordings, including the double Grammy Award-winning Les Troyens.

2019 marks 150 years since the death of Hector Berlioz and this product is released to accompany worldwide events celebrating the composer’s immense contribution to classical music.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Hybrid SACD Recordings

  • Overture – Les francs-juges
  • Te Deum
  • Grande Messe des morts
  • Benvenuto Cellini
  • L’enfance du Christ

CD Recordings

  • Les Troyens
  • La Damnation de Faust
  • Symphonie fantastique
  • Béatrice et Bénédict
  • Roméo et Juliette
  • Harold en Italie

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

For many of us, the name of Berlioz is synonymous with Sir Colin Davis—he was among the first to guide us through this amazing repertoire, producing along the way definitive recordings that had never been entirely superseded. Until now, that is. Sir Colin has in recent years returned to his core repertoire and re-recorded the major works of Berlioz in concert. Garnering critical paeans when first released, the LSO Live label has now collected these outstanding versions of Berlioz in a reasonably-priced box, variously in CD and hybrid SACD formats.

Included are the complete operas Les Troyens, Benvenuto Cellini, and Béatrice et Bénédict, the Symphony Fantastique, Harold in Italy, Roméo et Juliette, La Damnation de Faust, L’Enfance du Christ, and the huge Grand Messe des morts and even bigger Te Deum. These were his swansong releases—Sir Colin sadly died in 2013—and the culmination of his lifelong collaboration with the London Symphony Orchestra. There have been few other such long and productive associations.

Sir Colin Davis’ other focus has always been Sibelius, and LSO LIVE have also released a hybrid SACD live cycle of Sibelius Symphonies. Recommended!

- The Classical Music Collector, Chris Dench