Mahler: Symphony No. 2 (2SACD)

LSO Live
Current Stock:
Elena Mosuc , Zlata Bulycheva, London Symphony Orchestra & London Symphony Chorus, Valery Gergiev

"Valery Gergiev's Mahler cycle with the London Symphony Orchestra seems now to have found its identity and this thrilling account of the 'Resurrection' Symphony, heard on the second of two consecutive evening performances, bore many of the hallmarks that have distinguished the series so far: dramatic, driven and occasionally impatient. With the LSO on splendid form, producing a brilliant, bright sound that pushed the Barbican's close acoustic to its limits, Gergiev presided over a drama of despair and redemption of the greatest intensity…The LSO chorus was in glorious voice and egged on more and more by Gergiev they joined with the orchestra to produce an enormous, brilliant and overwhelming sound. The pure, visceral thrill of the final bars, greeted with an enthusiastic ovation from the packed audience, crowned a very fine performance of this great work."

"Faced with the London Symphony Orchestra's concentrated glare and attack, I considered cowering under my seat" The Times

"Singing without scores, the London Symphony Chorus are on unambiguous great form. Once Gergiev has the bit between his teeth, the tension hardly lets up…" Gramophone Magazine

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Mahler: Symphony No. 2 'Resurrection'

Mahler: Symphony No. 10 in F sharp major - Adagio