Josquin: Miserere mei Deus - Funeral Motets and Deplorations (CD)

Harmonia Mundi
Current Stock:
Cappella Amsterdam, Daniel Reuss

The art of lamentation.

‘To lament, to mourn, to memorialise: such was the new fashion at the very end of the fifteenth century’, writes Alice Tacaille. ‘The poet, in mourning the musician, attains an expressive intimacy . . . a eulogy of art that places the lamenting poet himself at the origin of the immortal memory which the artist will enjoy.’ Such is the case with the celebrated ‘Deploration’ on the death of Ockeghem, which, alongside Nymphes, nappées, forms a pair of superb musical epitaphs by the illustrious Josquin. With this programme combining secular homages and sacred polyphony, Daniel Reuss and the singers of Cappella Amsterdam launch a magisterial trilogy devoted to the Franco-Flemish masters of the Renaissance.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


JOSQUIN DES PREZ (c.1450/55-1521)

1. Déploration sur la mort d’Ockeghem. Nymphe des bois / Requiem æternam

2. Nymphes, nappés / Circumdederunt me

In principio erat Verbum
3. In principio erat Verbum
4. Fuit homo missus a Deo
5. Et verbum caro factum est

6. Absolve quæsumus, Domine
7. Absalon, fili mi

Planxit autem David
8. Planxit autem David
9. Montes Gelboe
10. Sagitta Jonathae
11. Doleo super te

12. De Profundis / Requiem æternam

Miserere mei, Deus
13. Miserere mei, Deus
14. Auditui meo dabis gaudium
15. Domine, labia mea aperies

16. Pater noster / Ave Maria

17. NICOLAS GOMBERT (c. 1495-c. 1560): Musæ Jovis