Rachmaninov: Piano Trios - Trio Wanderer (CD)

Harmonia Mundi
Current Stock:
Trio Wanderer

Rachmaninoff's output of chamber music is small but all the more precious for that. Two absolute gems bear witness to the fact: these ‘elegiac trios’, which were produced by a young composer still indisputably under the influence of Tchaikovsky. However, Rachmaninoff’s personality is already fully present, reaching heights of emotion and expressiveness.

The pieces by Suk and Grieg add a further touch of character to the picture, which is painted with an exceptionally rich palette: the artistry of the phenomenal Trio Wanderer.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Sergei Rachmaninov (1873-1943)

1. Elegiac Trio no. 1 in G minor - Lento lugubre

Elegiac Trio no. 2 op. 9 (1917 version) in D minor

2. I. Moderato
3. II. Quasi variazione. Andante
4. III. Allegro risoluto

5. Edvard Grieg (1843-1907): Andante con moto EG 116 in C minor

6. Josef Suk (1874-1935): Elegie op. 23 (Piano Trio version, 1902) in D-flat major