Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique (DVD+Blu-ray)

Château de Versailles Spectacles
Current Stock:
Lucile Richardot, Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique, Sir John Eliot Gardiner

It was whilst on the verge of loving despair that Hector Berlioz wrote this Symphonie Fantastique, épisode de la vie d’un artiste (episode from the life of an artist) where he portrays the obsession of this impossible love and the torture it inflicts upon the young man who has almost gone mad. It was first performed in December 1830 and immediately became the emblem of the musical avant-garde, making use of an unheard of soundscape which drove  the audience into a frenzy which had never before been known for an orchestral work in France. Revived here by the great Sir John Eliot Gardiner, the concert  is filled with symbolic works by the composer with the spendid overture from the Corsaire, and the cantata, La Mort de Cléopâtre. And finally, two mythical extracts from the great work by Berlioz, his opera, Les Troyens.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -



Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14

Le Corsaire Overture, Op. 21

Cléopâtre - Scène lyrique, H36
Lucile Richardot (contralto)

Ah! Je vais mourir (from Les Troyens)
Lucile Richardot (contralto)