Copland & Chávez: Pan-American Reflections (CD)

Current Stock:
he Orchestra of the Americas, Carlos Miguel Prieto

The Orchestra of the Americas performs Aaron Copland’s euphoric Third Symphony and Mexican composer Carlos Chávez’s rousing Sinfonía india in a thrilling Linn debut. Carlos Miguel Prieto, known for his charismatic conducting and dynamic, expressive interpretations, directs the orchestra. The Orchestra of the Americas performed both works at the 2018 Edinburgh Festival as part of a European tour, which saw the orchestra perform at the Rheingau Festival, the Elbphilharmonie and the Krzysztof Penderecki European Centre for Music. Full of hope, heroism and joyful optimism Copland’s Third Symphony is considered the ‘Great American Symphony’; it is perhaps most famous for its finale in which Copland incorporates his Fanfare for the Common Man, an exhilarating conclusion that leaves listeners uplifted. With scintillating indigenous melodies, complex rhythms and highly percussive orchestration, Chávez’s Sinfonía india is the perfect piece to end the programme and showcase this passionate, flamboyant and brilliantly incisive orchestra.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Aaron Copland

  • 1. Symphony No. 3: I. Molto moderato, with Simple Expression
  • 2. Symphony No. 3: II. Allegro molto
  • 3. Symphony No. 3: III. Andantino quasi allegretto
  • 4. Symphony No. 3: IV. Molto deliberato


Carlos Chávez

  • 5. Symphony No. 2 "Sinfonía india"