Purcell: The Cares of Lovers (CD)

Current Stock:
Rowan Pierce, Richard Egarr, William Carter

Linn Records is thrilled to introduce soprano Rowan Pierce in what promises to be a sensational debut recording. The Cares of Lovers comprises songs from across Purcell’s brief career from She loves and she confesses too, one of his very first published pieces (1683), to Sweeter than roses from his final months (1695). Although they all display the same matchless ingenuity and uncanny ability to set English words to music, a highlight includes Tell me, some pitying angel – a triumph of dramatic composition and the equal of any Italian cantata of the period. Since winning the President’s Award at the Royal College of Music in 2017, Pierce has won acclaim for her performances at The Barbican, Royal Festival Hall and at the BBC Proms. Her performance in Purcell’s The Fairy Queen, with the Academy of Ancient Music, won praise for her ‘expressive’ (Financial Times) and ‘heart-piercing’ (The Independent) singing. Richard Egarr and William Carter, two baroque music heavy-weights, join Pierce for this recording, made in Haarlem, Netherlands.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Henry Purcell

  1. The History of Timon of Athens, The Man-Hater, Z. 632: The Cares of Lovers
  2. Pausanias, the Betrayer of his Country, Z. 585: Sweeter Than Roses
  3. From Silent Shades "Bess of Bedlam", Z. 370
  4. The History of King Richard the Second, Z. 581: Retir’d from Mortal’s Sight
  5. The Rival Sisters, or The Violence of Love, Z. 609: Celia Has a Thousand Charms
  6. The Tempest, Z. 631: Dear Pretty Youth
  7. A Ground in Gamut, Z. 645
  8. If Music Be the Food of Love, Z. 379c
  9. O Solitude, My Sweetest Choice, Z. 406
  10. Hears Not My Phillis "The Knotting Song", Z. 371
  11. Bonduca, or The British Heroine, Z. 574: O Lead Me to Some Peaceful Gloom
  12. She Loves and She Confesses Too, Z. 413
  13. Ground, ZD. 222
  14. Tell Me, Some Pitying Angel "The Blessed Virgin’s Expostulation", Z. 196
  15. Oedipus, King of Thebes, Z. 583: Music for a While
  16. The Fatal Hour Comes on Apace, Z. 421
  17. Thou Wakeful Shepherd "A Morning Hymn", Z. 198
  18. Now That the Sun Hath Veiled His Light "An Evening Hymn on a Ground", Z. 193