Holst: Orchestral Works Volume 4 (SACD)

Current Stock:
Guy Johnston, BBC Philharmonic, Sir Andrew Davis

Five years after the highly-praised release of Volume 3, Sir Andrew Davis returns to his exploration of Holst’s orchestral works with the brilliant BBC Philharmonic, a series initiated almost ten years ago by the late Richard Hickox, then taken over by another expert in British repertoire.

This selection of orchestral works by Holst provides a remarkable overview of his career, ranging from such early works as A Winder Idyll – composed in 1897 when he was still studying at the Royal College of Music – to the Scherzo of a symphony on which he was working towards the end of his life. None of the music recorded here was published in his lifetime, and the Scherzo – rarely heard though it is – is the only work to have entered the repertoire. ‘A Moorside Suite’, originally written for brass band, is featured here in the composer's rarely heard arrangement for strings.

The young British cellist and Classical BRIT winner Guy Johnston is the soloist in Invocation, one of Holst’s most significant works, calling for a subtle balance of virtuosity and expressive qualities.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Gustav Holst (1874 – 1934):

  • A Winter Idyll, H 31
  • Symphony in F, Op. 8, H 47 ‘The Cotswolds’
  • Indra, Op. 13, H 66
  • Invocation, Op. 19 No. 2, H 75*
  • A Moorside Suite, H 173
  • Scherzo, H 192