Tchaikovsky: Complete Symphonies (6CD)

Current Stock:
Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Mariss Jansons

  • Tchaikovsky: Capriccio italien, Op. 45
  • Tchaikovsky: Manfred Symphony, Op. 58
  • Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13 'Winter Daydreams'
  • Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 2 in C minor, Op. 17 'Little Russian'
  • Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 3 in D major, Op. 29 'Polish'
  • Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36
  • Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64
  • Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74 'Pathétique'

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

The Classical Music Collector

"If collectors already have a Tchaikovsky symphony it tends to be the Fifth or Sixth, works that are entirely familiar. The Fourth is less familiar despite being one of his grandest statements, and the other four are genuinely neglected even today—an odd state of affairs, considering the widespread popularity of Tchaikovsky’s music. And yes, four: he wrote an unnumbered and large-scale Manfred Symphony between the Fourth and Fifth. This collection from Chandos of all seven of Tchaikovsky’s Symphonies, presents, arguably, the finest set of these works currently on the market. The performances by the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Mariss Jansons were awarded a Rosette by the Penguin Guide, “to indicate that they are of extra special quality”. For those who have a set already, this collection offers a strong alternative reading, for those who don’t …what are you waiting for?" - Chris Dench