Martinů: Complete Music for Violin and Orchestra (4CD)

Current Stock:
Bohuslav Matousek, Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Christopher Hogwood

Commissioned or premiered by some of the greatest violinists of the age—Kreisler, Dushkin, Elman—all the usual Martinu virtues are here in abundance, which makes the subsequent neglect of this important body of work even more incomprehensible. A decade after their original release, these recordings remain virtually unchallenged. The works recorded in this set—Martinu’s complete output for solo violin and orchestra, including compositions with other solo instruments.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


An utter delight from start to finish’ GRAMOPHONE

‘Attractive but unfamiliar pieces which few but the most seasoned Martinuº fans will already know … everything here shows Martinu's typically festive imagination in full flight’ INTERNATIONAL RECORD REVIEW

‘The performances are excellent, without exception. Matoušek has the technique for the worst hurdles, yet preserves an expressive, suave tone for more poetic pages’ FANFARE, USA

‘Christopher Hogwood and Bohuslav Matoušek are entirely at home with this repertoire … there is a huge amount to enjoy’ BBC MUSIC MAGAZINE

‘Martinu is a terminally underrated figure; these blistering performances will hopefully provide a tipping-point of recognition’ CLASSIC FM MAGAZINE

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -



1. Concerto for flute, violin and orchestra H252
2. Duo concertante for two violins and orchestra H264
3. Concerto for two violins and orchestra in D major H329


1. Concerto da camera H285
2. Concerto for violin, piano and orchestra H342
3. Czech Rhapsody H307a


1. Suite concertante for violin and orchestra H276
2. Suite concertante for violin and orchestra H276a
3. Rhapsody-Concerto for viola and orchestra H337


1. Violin Concerto No 1 H226
2. Violin Concerto No 2 H293