The Romantic Piano Concerto, Vol. 72 - Cipriani Potter (CD)

Current Stock:
Howard Shelley, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Volume 72 of the Romantic Piano Concerto series comes to the rescue of yet another neglected figure with three first recordings courtesy of Howard Shelley and his Tasmanian forces. Composer, pianist, writer and educator (he was an early Principal of the Royal Academy of Music), London-born Cipriani Potter was encouraged by Beethoven and admired by Wagner.


Track Listing:

Piano Concerto No 2 in D minor
1. Allegro
2. Andante con moto
3. Allegro vivace

Piano Concerto No 4 in E major
4. Allegro
5. Andante con moto
6. Allegro

Variazioni di bravura on a theme by Rossini
7. Introduction: Allegro con spirito
8. Tema
9. Variation 1: Grazioso
10. Variation 2: Allegro
11. Variation 3: Moderato assai
12. Variation 4: Tempo del tema
13. Variation 5: Allegretto non troppo – Un poco più presto – Tempo I
14. Variation 6: Tempo di marcia

Howard Shelley (piano/conductor)
Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra