The Cleveland Orchestra: Centennial Concert (Blu-ray)

Boutique Labels
Current Stock:
The Cleveland Orchestra, Franz Welster-Most, Lang Lang

This title is also available on DVD. Click here to view in our online store.

Franz Welser-Möst has also conducted The Cleveland Orchestra in a series of acclaimed video and audio productions, further enhancing the ensemble’s storied recorded legacy. At the Anniversary Gala on September 29, 2018, documented in the present video recording, he programmed works touching on more than a century of Viennese musical traditions. Opening with Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 24, featuring soloist Lang Lang, a regular collaborator with the orchestra since 2000, it also includes works by Richard and Johann Strauss, concluding with Ravel’s cataclysmic La Valse.

The Cleveland Orchestra was founded in 1918. Over the ensuing decades, the Orchestra quickly grew from a fine regional organization to being one of the most admired symphony orchestras in the world. Seven music directors have guided and shaped the ensemble’s growth and sound: Nikolai Sokoloff, 1918-33; Artur Rodzinski, 1933-43; Erich Leinsdorf, 1943-46; George Szell, 1946-70; Lorin Maazel, 1972-82; Christoph von Dohnányi, 1984-2002; and Franz Welser-Möst, since 2002.

The opening in 1931 of Severance Hall as the Orchestra’s permanent home brought a special pride to the ensemble and its hometown, as well as providing an enviable and intimate acoustic anvironment in which to develop and refine the Orchestra’s artistry. Touring performances throughout the United States and, beginning in 1957, to Europe and across the globe have confirmed Cleveland’s place among the world’s top orchestras.

For this anniversary concert, The Cleveland Orchestra will be joined by none less than world famous pianist Lang Lang. Heralded by the New York times as “the hottest artist on the classical music planet,” Lang Lang works with many of the best classical musicians of our time. He first appeared with The Cleveland Orchestra in 2000. Lang Lang plays soldout concerts in major concert halls around the world, is known for thinking outside the box, and frequently steps into different musical worlds, teaming up with artists from diverse genres. His tireless energy and boundless drive to attract new audiences to classical music have brought him many titles and awards. He won First Prize at the International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians at 13. His big break came at age 17 substituting for André Watts playing Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

1. Opening

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Piano Concerto No. 24 in c minor K 491
2. Allegro
3. Larghetto 
4. Allegretto 

Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
5. Symphonic Fantasy from „die Frau ohne Schatten“

Johann Strauss Jr. (1825-1899)
6. Wiener Blut Waltz op. 345 

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
7. La Valse 
8. Credits


  • The History of The Cleveland Orchestra 
  • The Conductors of The Clevland Orchestra 
  • The Orchestra for Clevland