Brahms: String Quartet No. 2 & Bartók: String Quartet No. 1 (CD)

Current Stock:
Ariel Quartet

The Ariel Quartet, distinguished by their virtuosic playing and impassioned interpretations, makes their debut recording pairing two giants of the string-quartet world, Bela Bartok and Johannes Brahms.

Both composers stand as significant pillars of the youthful Quartet's two-decade-long journey. The Ariel Quartet earned its glowing international reputation early on, having formed in Israel when its members were students in middle school. The Ariel now serves as the Faculty Quartet-in-Residence at the University of Cincinnati's College-Conservatory of Music Debut. This release is the first in a projected series pairing the quartets of Bartok and Brahms.

Reviews of performances by The Arial Quartet:

"a consummate ensemble gifted with utter musicality and remarkable interpretive power" - American Record Guide

"a blazing, larger-than-life performance" - The Washington Post

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Brahms: Quartet No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 51, No. 2
1. I . Allegro non troppo
2. II. Andante moderato
3. III. Quasi Minuetto, moderato; Allegretto vivace
4. IV. IV. Finale: Allegro non assai

Bartók: Quartet No. 1, Sz, 40, Op. 7
5. I. Lento
6. II. Allegretto Introduzione; Allegro
7. III. Allegro vivace