Ophélie Gaillard: Exiles (CD)

Current Stock:
Ophélie Gaillard, Sirba Octet Members

Throughout the 19th and early 20th centuries, the United States, a democracy concerned with human rights, attracted emigrants of all origins. The young nation embodied a land free from repression for the composers brought together here by Ophélie Gaillard in the spirit of humanism.

After 'Alvorada', her globe-trotting cello leads us in the footsteps of Bloch, Korngold, Prokofiev, Chava Alberstein and Giora Feidmann, singing their exile. She gives us a film score (Korngold's Concerto), a prayer (From Jewish Life), an Hebraic narrative (Schelomo), a lullaby, a wedding dance... The spirit of celebration, tenderness, religious meditation: so many facets of daily life and the culture of several generations of Jewish immigrants.

- - - - - 


  1. Ernest Bloch: Schelomo, Hebraic Rhapsody for Cello and Orchestra
  2. Erich Wolfgang Korngold: Concerto in One Movement for Cello and Orchestra in C, Op. 37
  3. Erich Wolfgang Korngold: Die tote Stadt, Op. 12, Act II: Tanzlied des Pierrot
  4. Sergei Prokofiev: Overture on Hebrew Themes, Op. 34
  5. Ernest Bloch: From Jewish Life
    1. I. Prayer
    2. II. Supplication
    3. III. Jewish Song
  6. Wedding Dance
  7. Jean Albertsein: Sarah Sings a Lullaby to Little Isaac
  8. Paikov Yeshayahu: Freilechs, Sim Shalom, Azoy Tantzmen in Odessa

- - - - - -