Gershwin (CD)

Current Stock:
Anima Eterna Brugge, Jos Van Immerseel

George Gershwin composed his Rhapsody in Blue in 1924. In the same year, he launched his collaboration with his brother Ira, which produced countless songs. He never achieved his ambition of studying with Maurice Ravel, but was always enthralled by the symphonic poem and the concerto. His masterpieces, such as An American in Paris and the opera Porgy and Bess, greatly enriched the American musical heritage.

Jos van Immerseel has always been fascinated by Gershwin, but it was the appearance of a new edition of the scores that prompted the pianist and conductor to record this extensive homage. Thanks to the very latest research undertaken by the University of Michigan, the Library of Congress and the Gershwin Estate, he and his companions in Anima Eterna have got closer than ever before to the composer’s intentions, making use of the appropriate instruments.

Claron Mcfadden (soprano) & Bart Van Caenegem
Anima Eterna Brugge, Jos Van Immerseel

- - - - -


Catfish Row (Suite from Porgy & Bess) [Arr. S. Bowen]

1. I. Catfish Row
2. II. Porgy Sings
3. III. Fugue
4. IV. Hurricane
5. V. Good Mornin' Sistuh!

6. Porgy & Bess: Summertime
7. The Show Is On: By Strauss
8. An American in Paris

Porgy & Bess
9. The Man I Love
10. My Man Is Gone Now

10. Girl Crazy: I Got Rhythm
11. Rhapsody in Blue (arr. F. Grofé and P. Whiteman for piano and orchestra)

- - - - -