Richter: Woolf Works (DVD)

Opus Arte
Current Stock:
Anush Hovhannisyan, Gillian Anderson, Orchestra of The Royal Opera House, The Royal Ballet, Koen Kessels

This title is also available on Blu-ray. Click here to view in our online store.

Virginia Woolf defied the false order of narrative conventions to depict a heightened, startling and poignant reality. Woolf Works recreates the synaesthetic collision of form and substance in her writings. Each of the three acts springs from one of Woolf’s landmark novels: Mrs Dalloway, Orlando and The Waves – but these inspirations are also enmeshed with elements from her letters, essays and diaries. Woolf Works expresses the heart of an artistic life driven to discover a freer, uniquely modern realism, and brings to life Woolf’s world of ‘granite and rainbow’, where human beings are at once both physical body and uncontained essence. Woolf Works (2015) was Wayne McGregor’s first full-length work for The Royal Ballet.

Extra Features: An introduction; Maggie Smith reading extracts from The Waves; On the music.

Running time: 118 minutes

Sound format: LPCM 2.0 & DTS Digital Surround 5.1 (DVD)