Respighi: Roman Trilogy - Falletta (CD)

Current Stock:
Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, JoAnn Falletta

Respighi is renowned as the composer of the lavishly orchestrated Roman Trilogy, sumptuous tone-poems full of provocative harmonies and suggestive rhythms, which celebrate the city’s architectural marvels, its festivals, pines and fountains. The composer’s kaleidoscopic writing encapsulates romantic serenade and rustic dance, solemn melody and pastoral landscape, children at play and visions o fpast martial glories. JoAnn Falletta’s previous Respighi recording of ‘Church Windows, Brazilian Impressions, and Rossiniana,’ was a Gramophone Editor’s Choice. Founded in 1935, the Grammy Award-winning Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, under music director JoAnn Falletta, is Buffalo’s leading cultural ambassador and presents more than 120 classics, pops and youth concerts each year. Since 1940, the orchestra’s permanent home has been Kleinhans Music Hall, a National Historic Landmark designed by Eliel and Eero Saarinen.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Respighi Feste romane (Roman Festivals), P. 157
1. I. Circenses
2. II. Il Giubileo
3. III. L'Ottobrata
4. IV. La Befana

Respighi Fontane di Roma (Fountains of Rome), P. 106
5. I. La fontana di Valle Giulia all'alba
6. II. La fontana del Tritone al mattino
7. III. La fontana di Trevi al meriggio
8. IV. La fontana di Villa Medici al tramonto

Respighi Pini di Roma (Pines of Rome), P. 141
9. I. I pini di Villa Borghese
10. II. Pini presso una catacomba
11. III. I pini del Gianicolo
12. IV. I pini della via Appia