Forgotten Dreams: Australian Guitar Music (CD)

Current Stock:
Timothy Kain

The doyen of Australian guitarists, Timothy Kain, has always encouraged the creation of vibrant new music for the instrument and has worked closely over the years with the four composers presented here. In Richard Charlton’s ‘Sonata of Forgotten Dreams,’ non-standard tunings allow cascade-like harmonics to infuse the music, while Mark Isaacs contrasts jazz-like chords with classical color in Five Bagatelles. Phillip Houghton’s ‘The Goldfish Suite’ brings iridescent color and atmosphere, and ‘Mosstrooper Peak’ is Nigel Westlake’s alternately reflective and energetic solo piece evoking remote locations on the country’s east coast, shrines to the memory of his son.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Richard Charlton: Sonata of Forgotten Dreams
1. I. Crusades and Crosses
2. II. The Games of Chance
3. III. Reconciliations and Regrets
4. IV. Recurring Dreams

5. Mark Isaacs: Song for My Father

Nigel Westlake: Guitar Sonata, "Mosstrooper Peak" (version for guitar solo)
6. I. Burning Point
7. II. Mosstrooper Peak
8. III. Nara Inlet
9. IV. Tangalooma
10. V. Butterfly Bay
11. VI. Smoky Cape

Phillip Houghton: The Goldfish Suite
12. I. Green Goldfish
13. II. Red Goldfish
14. III. Purple Goldfish
15. IV. Yellow Goldfish

Mark Isaacs: 5 Bagatelles
16. No. 1. Allegretto cantando
17. No. 2. Moderato
18. No. 3. Vivace molto pesante
19. No. 4. Lento dolente
20. No. 5. Allegro