Boccherini: Stabat Mater, Quartet & Quintet (CD)

Current Stock:
Dominique Labelle, Sarasa Ensemble

Boccherini enjoyed enormous popularity during his lifetime thanks to music that emphasized rich melody, instrumental vibrancy and disarming beauty. He chose the intimacy of a chamber music setting for his Stabat Mater, writing for a solo soprano and string quintet with the instrumental textures weaving the fabric of the text’s meaning. The result is passionate music with power, depth and pathos. As a virtuoso cellist he was perfectly placed to write chamber music. In the Quartet, Op. 52, No. 3, a colorful tapestry of contrasting events frames moments of bucolic excitement and lyric interlude, while the expertly structured Quintet, Op. 42, No. 1 directly evokes the Stabat Mater in its themes.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Boccherini String Quartet in G Major, Op. 52, No. 3, G. 234
1. I. Allegretto con moto
2. II. Minuetto
3. III. Adagio
4. IV. Allegro giusto

Boccherini Stabat mater, G. 532 (1781 version)
5. Stabat mater dolorosa
6. Cujus animam gementem
7. Quae moerebat et dolebat
8. Quis est homo?
9. Pro peccatis suae gentis
10. Eja, Mater, fons amoris
11. Tui nati vulnerati
12. Virgo virginum praeclara
13. Fac ut portem Christi mortem
14. Fac me plagis vulnerari
15. Quando corpus morietur

Boccherini String Quintet in F Minor, Op. 42, No. 1, G. 348
16. I. Allegro moderato assai
17. II. Minuetto con moto
18. III. Adagio cantabile
19. IV. Rondeau: Allegro giusto