Balkanisms: Guitar Music from the Balkans (CD)

Current Stock:
Mak Grgic

The area in southeast Europe known as the Balkans has long established folk traditions rich in complex rhythms and evocative melodies. Innovative guitarist Mak Grgic has selected the music of five composers to explore the variety and piquant colors embedded in their compositions. Drawn from his evolving suite called laments, Dances and Lullabies, Miroslav Tadic traces Macedonian folk songs, while each of the other composers brings very personal qualities. Vivid harmonies, vivacious interludes, syncopated rhythms, and a lively, jazz-like feel all combine to create a tapestry of moods and textures. Lauded by The New York Times and The Washington Post, Mak Grgic is emerging as a highly esteemed performer on the international stage. An expansive and adventurous repertoire attests to his versatility and wide-ranging interests, ranging from Baroque and Renaissance to music of the cinema and from ethnic music of his native Balkans to extreme avant-garde and microtonal music.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Tadić Laments, Dances and Lullabies (excerpts)
1. Jovka
2. Chicho

Bogdanovic Levantine Suite
3. I. Prelude
4. II. Dance
5. III. Cantilena
6. IV. Passacaglia
7. V. Postlude

Tadić Laments, Dances and Lullabies (excerpts)
8. Macedonian Girl

Papandopulo 3 Igre (3 Croatian Dances)
9. No. 1. Allegretto vivace
10. No. 2. Moderato
11. No. 3. Allegretto comodo

Ivanović 6 Café Pieces (excerpts)
12. No. 3. Improvisation and Dance
13. No. 4. A Funny Valse
14. No. 6. A Lullaby

15. Ostojić Stairway to the Balkans

Tadić Laments, Dances and Lullabies (excerpts)
16. Rustemul
17. Walk Dance