Catalan Wind Music, Vol. 2 (CD)

Current Stock:
Barcelona Symphonic Band, Salvador Brotons

After the resounding success of their first volume of Catalan Wind Music, the Barcelona Symphonic Band and Salvador Brotons return with world premiere recordings of works commissioned from award-winning Catalan composers. Xavier Montsalvatges’s colorfully festive ‘Music for a Sunday’ is followed by Joan Albert Amargos’ play on the timbres and dynamic force of wind instruments in Thematic Games. Elisenda Fabregas’ dramatic and emotional First Symphony contrasts majestic grandeur with the expressiveness of Catalan song, and Moises Bertran exploits the virtuoso skill of the soloist in his incisive and lyrical ‘A Double Bass Fantasy.’

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Montsalvatge: Música per un diumenge (Music for a Sunday)
1. I. Fanfarria (Fanfare)
2. II. El xotis de Llofriu (The Llofriu Chotis)
3. III. La polka del Poble Sec (The Poble Sec polka)

4. Amargos: Jocs temàtics (Thematic Games)

Fabregas: Symphony No. 1
5. I. Tempo giusto
6. II. Cançó
7. III. Scherzo
8. IV. Tempo giusto

9. Bertran: A Double Bass Fantasy