Barrios: Guitar Music, Vol. 5 (CD)

Current Stock:
Celil Refik Kaya

Agustin Barrios Mangore’s first public appearance was as ‘the Paganini of the guitar from the jungles of Paraguay.’ This flamboyant image was soon retired, but his legacy as a composer has endured and flourished, as have the recordings he made as the first guitarist to take advantage of new technology from as early as 1910. Ranging from romantic enchantment to fearsome virtuosity via works with Bach-like restraint, this programme embraces Barrios Mangore’s art from his earliest known piece, Abri la puerta mi china, to the reconstruction of the substantial Diana Guarani from a recording made in 1943. Celil Refik Kaya was awarded First Prize at the JoAnn Falletta International Guitar Concerto Competition in 2012 and has since received multiple awards from several prestigious American guitar competitions, as well as the Rising Young Musician of the year from the Donizetti Classical Music Awards in Istanbul in 2017.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Agustin Barrios Mangore
1. Vals, Op. 8, No. 3
2. Pericón 
3. Julia Florida 
4. Danza Paraguaya No. 1 
5. Estudio in G Minor 
6. Estudio No. 3 
7. Choro da Saudade 
8. Preludio in E Minor, "Pequeño Preludio" 
9. Invocación a la Luna 
10. Petit Pierrot, Marcha (arr. T. Morris for guitar)
11. Estudio No. 2, "Estudio en Arpegio" 
12. Gavota al Estilo Antiguo 
13. Preludio in G Minor, Op. 5, No. 1 
14. Romanza No. 1, "Romanza en Imitación al Violoncello" 
15. Zapateado Caribe (version for guitar) 
16. Abrí la Puerta mi China 
17. Estudio del Ligado in D Minor 
18. Variación al Estudio No. 3 
19. Estilo y Pericón 
20. Estudio del Ligado in A Major 
21. Isabel, Gavota (arr. T. Morris for guitar)
22. Variación al Estudio No. 6 
23. Vals de Primavera 
24. Diana Guarani 

Sebastian De Iradier
25. La Paloma, Habanera (arr. A. Barrios Mangoré for guitar)