Onslow: String Quintets, Vol. 3 (CD)

Current Stock:
Elan Quintet

As a pianist and cellist Georges Onslow had a particular affinity with chamber music, and his String Quintets are given an almost orchestral quality with their addition of the rich sonorities of a double bass. String Quintet No. 28, with an especially beautiful Adagio with more than a trace of the influence of Mendelssohn, combines Baroque poise with expressive Romantic writing, while String Quartet No. 29 is light-hearted and good-natured, with hints of Schubert in its melancholy lyricism and unexpected key changes. In praising the Elan Quintet’s first volume (8573600) a MusicWeb International reviewer declared, ‘I cannot fault their playing: their tonal quality is ravishing, their ensemble perfect’.

The combination of string quartet with double bass has opened up a richness of tone and distinct soundscape that the Elan Quintet has dedicated itself to exploring, celebrating works by renowned composers such as Schubert, Dvorak, and Cambini, working with contemporary artists in creating new works for quintet, and rediscovering neglected masterpieces by composers including Onslow and Bridge.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -



String Quintet No. 28 in G Minor, Op. 72 (version for string quartet and double bass)
1. I. Adagio non troppo - Allegro moderato
2. II. Adagio, molto cantabile
3. III. Menuet
4. IV. Finale

String Quintet No. 29 in E-Flat Major, Op. 73 (version for string quartet and double bass)
5. I. Allegro moderato
6. II. Larghetto doloroso
7. III. Scherzo
8. IV. Finale: Vivace