Castelnuovo-Tedesco: Works For Cello (CD)

Current Stock:
Enrico Dindo, Alessandro Marangoni

Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco wrote that ‘the cello is an instrument I’ve always particularly loved,’ and this is reflected in the deft way he exploits its colors and techniques in chamber works recorded here that include unpublished gems and a world premiere. The sophisticated Cello Sonata and Sonatina also reveal the composer’s skill as a pianist, giving equal roles in a symbiotic relationship that tests both players’ virtuosity. Impressionist flavors in I nottambuli or ‘Night Owls’ contrast with a Toccata that blends fireworks with lyricism, as does the Jewish soulfulness of the popular Chant hebraique with the playful Scherzo that uses the English traditional tune ‘Sumer is icumen in.’

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco

Cello Sonata, Op. 50
1. I. Arioso e sereno
2. II. Arietta con variazioni

Cello Sonatina, Op. 130
3. I. Allegretto
4. II. Andantino grazioso e un poco malinconico
5. III. Rondo alla marcia: Allegro con spirito
6. I nottambuli, Op. 47

Toccata, Op. 83
7. I. Introduzione
8. II. Aria
9. III. Finale

10. Chant hébraïque, Op. 53 (arr. G. Cassadó for cello and piano)
11. Scherzino, Op. 82, No. 2
12. Notturno sull'acqua, Op. 82, No. 1
13. Kol nidre, "Meditation"