Marx: Orchestral Works 2 (CD)

Current Stock:
Bochum Symphony Orchestra, Steven Sloane

Joseph Marx was described by Wilhelm Furtwangler as one of the leading figures in Austria’s music scene, and while his music disappeared completely from concert programmes after his death he ‘shaped an era’ and left a profound impression on several generations of composers. Marx made no secret of his admiration for the Classical giants of music, and the late period works in this programme pay homage to Haydn and others while retaining Romantic sensibilities: a blend of old and new that creates something remarkably timeless. Founded in 1919, the Bochum Symphony Orchestra has developed into one of the leading orchestras in western Germany. Under several general music directors and with avant-garde programmes, it has developed a wide reputation as an innovative orchestra. In 1994, the Israeli-American conductor Steven Sloane became general music director. Since then he has succeeded in raising the local, regional, and international profile of the Orchestra.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Marx: Alt-Wiener Serenaden (Old Vienna Serenades)
1. I. Intrada: Allegro moderato ma deciso
2. II. Aria: Andante appassionata
3. III. Tempo di menuetto
4. IV. Scherzo con marcia: Presto

Marx: Quartetto in modo antico (version for string orchestra as Partita in modo antico)
5. I. Allegro poco moderato
6. II. Presto
7. III. Adagio molto
8. IV. Vivace

Marx: Quartetto in modo classico (version for string orchestra as Sinfonia in modo classico)
9. I. Allegro con brio
10. II. Adagio ma non troppo
11. III. Tempo di minuetto
12. IV. Poco presto