Brahms: Violin Concerto & Double Concerto (CD)

Current Stock:
Tianwa Yang, Gabriel Schwabe, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Antoni Wit

Brahms’ string concertos are indissolubly linked with the musicians for whom the works were written. He wrote his Violin Concerto for Joseph Joachim, and in it he combined what a contemporary critic termed ‘the great and serious’ with songful lyricism, melodic beauty, and a fiery Hungarian finale. To mend a breach with the violinist, Brahms later composed a concerto with the unusual combination of violin and cello, the latter played at the premiere by Joachim’s colleague Robert Hausmann. Neither instrument predominates in a work of reconciliation that embodies both drama and reflection. Highly acclaimed Naxos artists Tianwa Yang and Gabriel Schwabe are featured on this recording, as well as Antoni Wit, one of Naxos’s best-selling and best-known conductors.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


BBC Music Magazine

5 Stars

"She has technique to spare, produces a gloriously open sonority on her 1730 Guarneri del Gesù, and possesses a vibrant musical personality ideal for the recording studio. The clarity of her glistening tone and technical dexterity are matched by an uncluttered interpretative instinct that proves especially handy in these old warhorses."

Gramophone Magazine

"Yang’s sound is lithe and warm, abetted by mellow dolce sweetness in the instrument’s upper register, where she can refine it down to a whisper. Yang’s Brahms is rhapsodic, although I miss the bravura fire of her best Sarasate recordings…[in the Double] Schwabe and Yang enjoy an amiable dialogue."

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Brahms Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77
1. I. Allegro non troppo
2. II. Adagio
3. III. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo vivace

Brahms Double Concerto for Violin and Cello in A Minor, Op. 102
4. I. Allegro
5. II. Andante
6. III. Vivace non troppo