Dvorak: Piano Trios Nos 1 and 2 (CD)

Current Stock:
The Tempest Trio

The Tempest Trio

Dvořák’s four piano trios are some of the greatest examples of late 19th-century chamber music, and have remained repertoire favourites to this day. His Piano Trio No. 1 in B flat major incorporates melancholy, serenity and vivid excitement in equal measure, while the Piano Trio No. 2 in G minor though written at a time of personal tragedy for Dvořák, achieves a triumphant and emphatic conclusion.

Fanfare said of the first volume of Trios (8573279), ‘I would urge you with special pleading to acquire this release for what may well be the best Dvořák ‘Dumky’ on disc ever.’

Combining technical mastery, expressive depth and performance experience, pianist Alon Goldstein, violinist Ilya Kaler and cellist Amit Peled have joined forces to form one of the most exciting trios on the international scene. Each virtuoso member of the ensemble has a successful solo career; together they bring vitality to the concert stage with their dynamic musical interplay and collaborative spirit. After only a few seasons as a trio the group has already been compared to the legendary ‘Million Dollar Trio’ of Arthur Rubinstein, Gregor Piatigorsky and Jascha Heifetz. The Tempest Trio has performed in cities throughout the US, Europe, Israel, and Asia, and in recent years the ensemble presented the complete Schumann, Brahms and Dvorak Trio cycles at the renowned Seattle Chamber Music Festival and the Four Arts Society in Palm Beach as well as New York’s Town Hall.

- - - - -


Piano Trio No. 1 in B-Flat Major, Op. 21, B. 51
1. I. Allegro molto
2. II. Adagio molto e mesto
3. III. Allegretto scherzando
4. IV. Finale: Allegro vivace

Piano Trio No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 26, B. 56
5. I. Allegro moderato
6. II. Largo
7. III. Scherzo: Presto
8. IV. Finale: Allegro non tanto

- - - - -