Quayle: String Quartets Nos. 1-3 (CD)

Current Stock:
Avalon String Quartet

"I am delighted to share the Avalon Quartet’s powerful rendition of my three string quartets on Naxos. These remarkable musicians display their uncommon insight and interpretive range throughout the album – from the introspective yet ardent journey of the expansive First Quartet, to the spiky mischief of the Second, to the enigmatic meandering through the thirteen fleeting movements of the Third. They have fully captured the stylistic diversity and dramatic intensity of these deeply personal pieces" - Matthew Quayle.

Matthew Quayle’s music has been commissioned and performed by ensembles including Albany Symphony Orchestra, Arditti String Quartet, Avalon String Quartet and Baltimore Chamber Orchestra. He is active as a pianist and has performed widely as a solo pianist and chamber musician. The Avalon String Quartet, who have recorded the works, were involved in the early performances of all three quartets and they have earned the composer’s strong admiration and imprimatur. The Chicago Tribune described the quartet as “an ensemble that invites you- ears, mind, and spirit- into its music.”

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -



String Quartet No. 1
1. I. Andante espressivo
2. II. Scherzo: Presto
3. III. Andante serioso
4. IV. Allegro

5. String Quartet No. 2, "Sweet Insanity"

String Quartet No. 3
6. I. Semplice
7. II. Straziante
8. III. Allegro
9. IV. Energico
10. V. Andantino
11. VI. Valse triste
12. VII. Allegro ma non troppo
13. VIII. Presto
14. IX. Adagietto
15. X. Straziante
16. XI. Tempo I
17. XII. Easygoing
18. XIII. Subito più mosso