Sibelius: Incidental Music (6CD)

Current Stock:
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra, Leif Segerstam

Performers: Pia Pajala, Tuomas Katajala, Waltteri Torikka, Nicholas Soderlund, Riho Eklundh, Mikaela Palmu, Bendik Goldstein, Roi Ruottinen, Cathedralis Aboensis Choir, Turku Philharmonic Orchestra, Leif Segerstam

Parallel to his great sequence of symphonic masterpieces and tone poems, Jean Sibelius wrote a significant body of music for the theater. It was with King Christian II and Kuolema that he established his fame throughout Europe whilst some of his most hauntingly beautiful writing for the stage can be found in Belshazzar’s Feast. The tragic pantomime Scaramouche is Sibelius’s only continuous dramatic score and Pelleas et Melisande is one of his most accomplished, whilst the rarely performed Jedermann is recognized as a hidden masterpiece. Gramophone wrote of these performances: “Leif Segerstam masterminds a characteristically unhurried, atmospheric display. What an absorbing journey of discovery this series has proved to be; congratulations to everyone involved.” Leif Segerstam is a conductor, composer, violinist, and pianist with a prominent international career. He has held top conducting positions with some of the finest orchestras and opera houses in the world, including the Finnish National Opera and Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra.


  1. Overture in A Minor, JS 144

Kuolema (Death), JS 113

  1. No. 1. Tempo di valse lente - Poco risoluto
  2. No. 2. Paavali's Song: "Pakkanen puhurin poika" (Jack Frost, son of the icy north wind)
  3. No. 3. Elas's Song: "Eilaa, eilaa"
  4. No. 4. The Cranes
  5. No. 5. Moderato
  6. No. 6. Andante ma non tanto
  1. Trettondagsafton (Twelfth Night), Op. 60: No. 1. Kom nu hit, Dod (Come away, Death)
  2. Twelfth Night, Op. 60: No. 2. Hallila, uti storm och i regn (Hey, ho, the Wind and the Rain) (arr. K. Borg for voice and orchestra)

Kung Kristian II, Op. 27

  1. I. Elegie
  2. II. Musette
  3. III. Menuetto
  4. IV. Sangen om korsspindeln (Fool's Song of the Spider)
  5. V. Nocturne
  6. VI. Serenade
  7. VII. Ballade



  1. Overture in E Major, JS 145
  2. Scene de ballet, JS 163

Belsazars gastabud (Belshazzar's Feast), JS 48

  1. Act I: Alla marcia
  2. Act II: Prelude: Nocturno
  3. Act II: Den judiska flickans sang (Vid alvarna i Babylon) (The Song of the Jewish Girl)
  4. Act III: Allegretto
  5. Act III: Livets dans
  6. Act III: Dodens dans (Dance of Death)
  7. Act III: Livets dans (Dance of Life) (excerpt)
  8. Act IV: Tempo sostenuto
  9. Act IV: Allegro
  10. Act IV: Livets dans (Dance of Life)
  11. Act IV: Dodens dans (Dance of Death)
  12. Die Sprache der Vogel (The Language of the Birds), Act III: Wedding March, JS 62
  13. Cortege, JS 54
  14. Menuetto, JS 127
  15. Processional, Op. 113, No. 6 (version for orchestra)



Pelleas and Melisande, JS 147

  1. Act I Scene 1: Prelude: Grave e largamente
  2. Act I Scene 2: Andantino con moto
  3. Act I Scene 4: Adagio
  4. Act II Scene 1: Prelude: Commodo
  5. Act III Scene 1: Prelude: Con moto (ma non tanto)
  6. Act III Scene 2: De trenne blinda systrar (The 3 Blind Sisters), "Melisande's Song": Tranquillo
  7. Act III Scene 4: Andantino pastorale
  8. Act IV Scene 1: Prelude: Allegretto
  9. Act IV Scene 2
  10. Act V Scene 2: Prelude: Andante
  11. Musik zu einer Szene
  12. Valse Lyrique, Op. 96a (version for orchestra)
  13. Autrefois, Op. 96b (version for soprano, alto and orchestra)
  14. Valse Chevaleresque, Op. 96c (version for orchestra)
  15. Morceau Romantique sur un Motif de Monsieur Jakob de Julin, JS 135a



Jokamies (Everyman), Op. 83

  1. I. Largo
  2. II. Largo
  3. III. Allegro
  4. IIIa. Allegro comodo
  5. IV. Tanssilaulu (Dance Song): Me kutsun saimme …
  6. V. On riemussa hetket mennehet taas
  7. VI. Kun vetta sataa, niin kastutaan
  8. VII. Maat ja metsat viherioivat …
  9. VIII. Oi, Lempi, armas Lempi! …
  10. IX. Maat ja metsat viherioivat …
  11. X. Allegro molto
  12. XI. Largo, sempre misteroiso
  13. XII. Adagio di molto
  14. XIII. Adagio di molto (continued)
  15. XIV. Largo e molto - Doloroso - Con grande dolore
  16. XV. [Lento]
  17. XVI. Gloria in excelsis Deo

2 Pieces, Op. 77 (version for violin and orchestra)

  1. No. 1. Cantique: Laetare anima mea
  2. No. 2. Devotion: Ab imo pectore
  1. In Memoriam, Op. 59 (final version)



Svanevit (Swanwhite), JS 189

  1. Act I: Largo: En hornsignal i fjarran
  2. Act I: Comodo
  3. Act I: Adagio: En svan flyger forbi
  4. Act II: Lento assai: Nar modern har stally harpan pa bordet
  5. Act II: Adagio: Da drager en vit svan forbi
  6. Act II: Lento - Comodo - Lento - Allegro: Svanevitsmoder: Och vi rakas pa gronskande ang
  7. Act II: Andantino: Harpan tystnar ett ogonblick och tar sa upp en ny melodi
  8. Act II: Andante: Prinsen ensam
  9. Act II: Lento: Styvmodern: Har min konst svikit mig, eller hur
  10. Act II: Moderato: Nar prinsen lagger sig i sangen
  11. Act III: Allegretto: Nar konungen gar
  12. Act III: Largamente: Prinsen (Konungen): Eld pa borgen
  13. Act III: Adagio: Svanevit: Ma de komma fort ty de maste komma
  14. Act III: Largamente molto: Svanevit - Prinsessan: Jag tror, jag vill, jag ber

Odlan (The Lizard), Op. 8 (version for string orchestra)

  1. Scene 1: Adagio
  2. Scene 2: Grave
  3. Ett ensamt skidspar (The Lonely Ski Trail), JS 77b
  4. Grevinnans konterfej (The Countess's Portrait), JS 88 (version with narration)



Scaramouche, Op. 71

  1. Act I Scene 1: Lento assai
  2. Act I Scene 2: [Lento assai]
  3. Act I Scene 3: [Lento assai] - Andante con moto
  4. Act I Scene 4: Tempo di bolero
  5. Act I Scene 5: Lento - Tempo di bolero - Lento assai
  6. Act I Scene 6: Tempo di valse
  7. Act I Scene 7: Poco moderato
  8. Act I Scene 8: [Poco moderato]
  9. Act I Scene 9: Tempo di valse
  10. Act I Scene 10: Adagio - Allegro - Adagio …
  11. Act II Scene 1: Meno tranquillo
  12. Act II Scene 2: Allegretto
  13. Act II Scene 3: Andantino
  14. Act II Scene 4: Allegretto
  15. Act II Scene 5: [Allegretto] - Andantino
  16. Act II Scene 6: Tranquillo assai
  17. Act II Scene 7: [Andantino] - Meno tranquillo - Lento - Moderato - Allegro moderato
  18. Act II Scene 8: Allegretto - Allegro
  19. Act II Scene 9: [Allegro]
  20. Act II Scene 10: Andante - Lento assai - Andantino …
  21. Act II Scene 11: [Grave assai]