Haydn: Symphonies - Leonard Bernstein, Wiener Philharmoniker (DVD)

C Major
Current Stock:
Leonard Bernstein, Wiener Philharmoniker

Haydn is generally seen as one of the main originators of the 'Viennese sound', the inimitable style of playing which is still very much alive today and is particularly cultivated by the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra. This orchestra has Haydn’s music in its blood, and its interpretation of his symphonies demonstrates a supreme confidence, musical sophistication and lightness of touch. As a noted American music critic remarked following a performance of the Oxford Symphony conducted by Leonard Bernstein: 'Let’s have no further argument: the Vienna Philharonic is the world’s greatest orchestra'. Bernstein's interpretations of the symphonies have consistently met with unreserved critical acclaim. He, of all conductors, possessed precisely the qualities which Haydn’s music requires: grace, charm and a generous measure of wit.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


  • Haydn: Symphony No. 94 in G Major 'Surprise'
  • Symphony No. 92 in G major 'Oxford'
  • Symphony No. 88 in G major
  • Sinfonia Concertante in B flat major, Op. 84, Hob. I / 105

Region Code: All Regions

Run Time: 1 Hour 51 minutes

Picture: NTSC, 4:3

Audio: PCM Stereo