Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (2DVD)

Deutsche Grammophon
Current Stock:
Peter Schreier, Janet Perry, Robert Holl, Concentus Musicus Wien, Nikolaus Harnoncourt

Peter Schreier, Janet Perry & Robert Holl

Concentus Musicus Wien, Nikolaus Harnoncourt

Never before released on DVD and, to the dismay of fans, long unavailable – these glorious Bach pieces are conducted by period instrument pioneer, Nikolaus Harnoncourt as only he can. Harnoncourt, a notable cellist, performs in two concertos and on gamba in one.

Vocalists Perry, Holl, and Schreier sing with distinction. 5.1 DTS Surround Sound makes clear they revel in the acoustics of the visually magnificent Baroque library of Wiblingen Monastery.

“Highly accomplished playing from all the Concentus Musicus” (Gramophone)

Harnoncourt warns, “If we lose contact with the great works of Bach, we lose our contact with humanity.” This DVD makes staying in touch with this gift pure joy.

- - - - -


Bach, J S:

Brandenburg Concertos Nos. 1-6 BWV1046-1051 (complete)

& Introductions

Cantata BWV211 'Schweigt stille, plaudert nicht' (Coffee Cantata)

Concerto for Oboe & Violin in D minor, BWV1060

Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV1068

- - - - -