Where the River Goes (CD)

Current Stock:
Wolfgang Muthspiel, Ambrose Akinmusire, Brad Mehldau, Larry Grenadier, Eric Harland

Where The River Goes carries the story forward from Wolfgang Muthspiel’s highly-acclaimed Rising Grace recording of 2016, reuniting the Austrian guitarist with Brad Mehldau, Ambrose Akinmusire and Larry Grenadier, heavy talents all, and bringing in the great Eric Harland on drums. Much more than an “all-star” gathering, the group plays as an ensemble with its own distinct identity, evident both in the interpretation of Muthspiel’s pieces and in the collective playing.  The album, recorded at Studios La Buissonne in February 2018, and produced by Manfred Eicher, features six compositions by Wolfgang Muthspiel and one by Brad Mehldau, plus group improvisation. (ECM2610)

Wolfgang Muthspiel Guitar
Ambrose Akinmusire Trumpet
Brad Mehldau Piano
Larry Grenadier Double Bass
Eric Harland Drums

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


  1. WHERE THE RIVER GOES (Wolfgang Muthspiel)
  2. FOR DJANGO (Wolfgang Muthspiel)
  3. DESCENDANTS (Wolfgang Muthspiel)
  4. CLEARING (Wolfgang Muthspiel, Brad Mehldau, Ambrose Akinmusire, Larry Grenadier, Eric Harland)
  5. BUENOS AIRES (Wolfgang Muthspiel)
  6. ONE DAY MY PRINCE WAS GONE (Wolfgang Muthspiel)
  7. BLUESHEAD (Brad Mehldau)
  8. PANORAMA (Wolfgang Muthspiel)