Beethoven, Brahms: The Complete Symphonies and More (10CD)

Current Stock:
Eugen Jochum, Berliner Philharmoniker, Sinfonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

The great orchestral works, especially of the 19th century, found their ideal conductor in Eugen Jochum (1902 - 1987). His recordings of the works of Brahms, Beethoven and Bruckner earned him worldwide fame. In Duisburg he became General Music Director (1930/32), then Music Director of the Berlin Radio and musical director of the Opera, before he took over as director of the Philharmonic State Orchestra in Hamburg, when Karl Bohm moved to Dresden. He retained this position from 1934 to 49 and gave it up when the Bavarian Radio won him over as the leader of its newly formed symphony orchestra. Jochum was able to shape this orchestra according to his own ideas and went on to successfully present it abroad. In addition to his recordings with the Berlin Philharmonic, the productions with this - “his” - orchestra are at the center of this collection.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Brahms: Symphonies Nos. 1-4

Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 1-9
Fidelio, op.72 Overture
Leonore Overture no.2, op.72a
The Creatures of Prometheus, op.43 Overture
The Ruins of Athens, op.113 Overture