Karl Munchinger - Milestones of a Legend (10CD)

Current Stock:
Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra, Karl Munchinger

Before the representatives of “Baroque music on original instruments”, playing in the ensemble and orchestra size of the time of the work’s creation, enriched the concert scene in a truly interesting way, the recordings of Karl Munchinger and the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra he had founded were used as a benchmark especially when it came to the interpretation of the works of J.S. Bach.

Born in Stuttgart in 1915 and also deceased there in 1990 - had already discovered his love for Bach during his orchestral conducting and composition studies at the Stuttgart University of Music before gaining practical experience alongside Hermann Abendroth in Leipzig and Clemens Krauss in Salzburg. In addition to the Baroque repertoire he also included works of classical music, especially by Mozart and Haydn, in his programs in the late 1950s. The recordings on this 10-CD collection cover the most important phases in Munchinger’s work, and at the same time convey an impression of the sensitive partnership of the conductor with often world-famous soloists.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -



  • Bach, J S: Orchestral Suites Nos. 1-4, BWV1066-1069
  • Bach, J S: Cantata BWV51 'Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen'
  • Bach, J S: Cantata BWV202 'Weichet Nur, betrübte Schatten' (Wedding Cantata)
  • Bach, J S: Brandenburg Concertos Nos. 1-6 BWV1046-1051
  • Vivaldi: The Four Seasons
  • Vivaldi: Cello Concerto in E minor
    Pierre Fournier (cello)
  • Boccherini: Cello Concerto No. 9 in B flat major, G482
    Pierre Fournier (cello)
  • Couperin, F: Pièces en concert from Les goûts réunis
  • Corelli: Concerto grosso Op. 6 No. 8 in G minor 'fatto per la notte di Natale'
  • Mozart: Non più, tutto ascoltai - Non temer, amato bene, K490
  • Mozart: Basta Vicesti... Ah non lasciarmi no. K295a
  • Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 9 in E-flat major, K271 "Jeunehomme"
    Wilhelm Kempff (piano)
  • Mozart: Divertimento in D major, K136
  • Haydn: Cello Concerto No. 2 in D major, Hob. VIIb:2 (Op. 101)
  • Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 15 in B flat major, K450
    Wilhelm Kempff (piano)
  • Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major, K216
  • Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 6 in E flat major, K268
  • Mozart: Serenade No. 13 in G major, K525 'Eine kleine Nachtmusik'