Nat King Cole & Me (CD)

Boutique Labels
Current Stock:
Gregory Porter

Nat King Cole & Me is the follow-up to Gregory Porter’s Grammy-winning albums Liquid Spirit (2013) and Take Me to the Alley (2016).

Liquid Spirit took Gregory from being the biggest name on the jazz scene to being one of the most sought-after singers around today, performing sell-out shows across the UK and being invited to perform on high profile TV programmes including The Graham Norton Show, Strictly Come Dancing and the BBC Music Awards. He has become an adopted national treasure in the UK, having sung for the Queen multiple times, as well as major music festivals including Glastonbury, where he performed on the Pyramid Stage alongside the likes of Muse, Adele and Coldplay.

After winning over audiences with his rich and soulful voice, there can be no better time for Gregory to return to the music which first inspired him to become a singer. ‘Nat King Cole & Me’ is a deeply personal tribute to Nat King Cole – the legendary crooner who ignited Gregory’s love of music. “It’s only natural that I go to the root of my inspiration and where I come from. And that root would be my mother and gospel music and Nat King Cole,” he says.

The new album marks the first time Gregory has recorded with a full orchestra. Recorded at London’s AIR Studios, the 12-track album features some of Gregory’s favourite Nat King Cole tunes including ‘Smile’, ‘L-O-V-E’ and ‘Nature Boy’. There is also a Nat-inspired arrangement of Gregory’s own song ‘When Love Was King’, originally released on his million-selling hit album, ‘Liquid Spirit’.

“The sheer pleasure in Porter’s singing is all but impossible to resist.”
Daily Telegraph

- - - - - 


1. Mona Lisa
2. Smile
3. Nature Boy
4. L-O-V-E
5. Quizas, Quizas, Quizas
6. Miss Otis Regrets
7. Pick Yourself Up
8. When Love Was King (arrangement of an original Gregory Porter composition from Liquid Spirit)
9. The Lonely One
10. Ballerina
11. I Wonder Who My Daddy Is
12. The Christmas Song

- - - - -