Jóhann Jóhannsson: Retrospective I (7CD)

Deutsche Grammophon
Current Stock:
Jóhann Jóhannsson

Limited Edition 7CD Box Set.

"I'm obsessed with the texture of sound, (...) and interested in minimal forms, with how to say things as simply as possible, how to distil things into their primal form" – Jóhann Jóhannsson

In memory of innovative and prolific composer Jóhann Jóhannsson, Deutsche Grammophon have released a comprehensively curated selection of his milestone recordings in a deluxe 'Retrospective' hardcover book edition, which will encompass two volumes.

'Retrospective I' features Jóhannsson's early works as well as the unreleased soundtrack of the Danish documentary film White Black Boy. All of the early works, many of them currently out of print, will be made available again and appear on DG for the first time. The edition will include two new essays by Wyndham Wallace and John Schaefer and a large number of rare photographs offering deep insights into Jóhann's biography and music.

Jóhann was a figurehead in a dynamic and developing scene of composers who move freely and inventively between film scores, minimalist classical, ambient and electronic music. His music covers a broad perspective involving electronics and classical orchestration, drawing on minimalism and drone music, as well as electronic and classical forms, but never settling into any pre-defined genre.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


"He is wowing listeners with his unique blend of subtle electronics and epic orchestral flourishes" - FACT (2015)

"His stirring use of silence and aching melodies are entrancing" – The New Yorker (2012)

"With music this hypnotic, who needs drugs?" – NPR (2012)

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Disc Listing:

  • CD1 - Virđulegu Forsetar (2004)
  • CD2 - Dís (2005)
  • CD3 - And in the Endless Pause There Came the Sound of Bees (2009)
  • CD4 - The Miners' Hymns (2011)
  • CD5 - Copenhagen Dreams (2012)
  • CD6 - Free the Mind (2012)
  • CD7 - White Black Boy (Unreleased Soundtrack To The Documentary)