Johann Sebastian Bach - Víkingur Ólafsson (CD)

Deutsche Grammophon
Current Stock:
Víkingur Ólafsson

Sublime New Bach Album From Icelandic Pianist Víkingur Ólafsson!

Following on from his critically acclaimed recording of piano works by Philip Glass, Icelandic pianist Víkingur Ólafsson has now made a second concept album for Deutsche Grammophon.

The simply named Bach album features original works alongside inspired adaptations by composers including Rachmaninov, Busoni and Ólafsson himself. Renowned for his innovative musical projects, the pianist here offers listeners a very personal vision of Bach's intricate keyboard music in all its rich variety.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Gramophone Magazine

"Here is an artist who palpably adores and reveres JSB in equal measure, and makes sense of a programme that could have sounded bitty…In terms of pianistic lineage, Ólafsson combines the fantasy of Maria João Pires and Martha Argerich with the contrapuntal élan of Piotr Anderszewski. But he is very much his own man."

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Bach, J S:

  • Aria Variata in A minor, BWV989 ‘alla Maniera Italiana'
  • Chorale Prelude BWV639 'Ich ruf' zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ'
  • Chorale Prelude BWV659 'Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland'
  • Chorale Prelude BWV734 'Nun freut euch, lieben Christen gmein'
  • Fantasia & Fugue in A minor, BWV904
  • Keyboard Concerto in D minor (after Marcello), BWV974
  • Partita for solo violin No. 3 in E, BWV1006: Gavotte
  • Prelude & Fughetta in G major, BWV902
  • Prelude & Fugue Book 1 No. 2 in C minor, BWV847
  • Prelude & Fugue Book 1 No. 5 in D major, BWV850
  • Prelude & Fugue Book 1 No. 10 in E minor, BWV855
  • Three-part Invention (Sinfonia) No. 12 in A major, BWV798
  • Three-part Invention (Sinfonia) No. 15 in B minor, BWV801
  • Two-part Invention No. 12 in A major, BWV783
  • Two-part Invention No. 15 in B minor, BWV786