Suk: Asrael & A Fairy Tale (CD)

Current Stock:
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Jiří Bělohlávek

Both the 'Asrael Symphony' and 'Fairy Tale', considered by many the summit of Suk's achievements, are new additions to the Decca and Universal catalogues.
145 years after Suk's birth, Jirí Belohlávek and the Czech Philharmonic present informed performances of two of the composer's most notable works. The 'Asrael Symphony' was composed in memory of Antonín Dvorák and his daughter, Otilie, to whom Suk was married.
This release continues the series of Jirí Belohlávek's last recordings of Czech masterworks for Decca Classics before he sadly passed away in 2017.
"Splendid recordings do justice to a Czech Philharmonic in fine form, producing a fitting memorial to the remarkable life of Belohlávek" - Praise for Janácek: Glagolitic Mass / Limelight Magazine

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -



Asrael: Symphony in C Minor, Op. 27

1. Andante sostenuto
2. Andante
3. Vivace
4. Adagio
5. Adagio e maestoso

Pohádka, Op. 16

1. About the Constant Love of Raduz and Mahulena and their Trials
2. Playing at Swans and Peacocks
3. Funeral Music
4. Runa’s Curse and how it was broken by True Love