I'll Walk Beside You (CD)

ABC Classics & Jazz
Current Stock:
Teddy Tahu Rhodes, Southern Cross Soloists, Karin Schaupp

Teddy Tahu Rhodes, Australia’s favourite baritone, returns with his first solo album in four years.

I’ll Walk Beside You features music of journeys, physical, emotional and spiritual: from one land to another, life to death, wakefulness to sleep, love to loss, and despair to hope. Songs from all over the world – from Australia, Scotland, Germany and America, as well as two Maori songs from Rhodes’ homeland – find a home alongside each other in gorgeous arrangements by the Southern Cross Soloists, one of Australia’s most formidable chamber music ensembles.

‘Music transcends all cultures, and I think it’s great that we can enjoy music from every culture,’ says Rhodes. ‘I sing opera that’s written in Italy, or France, or Germany, and then we have people from other cultures singing our English language. It’s a wonderful thing that music brings a lot of people together.’

Featuring favourites like ‘Shenandoah’, ‘Loch Lomond’, ‘Going Home’ and ‘She Was Beautiful’ (the Cavatina from The Deer Hunter), I’ll Walk Beside You is a heartfelt and beautiful album from one of Australia’s best-loved voices.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


  1. TRAD Raglan Road
  2. MYERS She Was Beautiful (Cavatina, from The Deer Hunter)
  3. ANON Hoea rā
  4. TRAD Botany Bay
  5. MURRAY I'll Walk Beside You
  6. JAMES Comrades of Mine (from Six Australian Bush Songs)
  7. WOOD Roses of Picardy
  8. TCHAIKOVSKY None but the Lonely Heart
  9. TRAD Deep River
  10. TRAD Klezmer Dances [Instrumental]
  11. DVOŘÁK Goin' Home
  12. TRAD Eriskay Love Lilt
  13. ANON Still, Still, Still
  14. LOWRY Shall We Gather by the River
  15. SCHUBERT Du bist die Ruh'
  16. TRAD Pō atarau
  17. TRAD Shenandoah
  18. TRAD Loch Lomond

Teddy Tahu Rhodes bass-baritone
Southern Cross Soloists
Karin Schaupp guitar [track 2]