Canteloube: Songs of the Auvergne excerpts - 1000 Years of Classical Music, Vol. 82 (CD)

ABC Classics & Jazz
Current Stock:
Sara Macliver, Queensland Symphony Orchestra, Brett Kelly

‘I roamed through farms and villages listening to the songs of the country folk — old men and women, shepherds and shepherdesses in the fields, farm-labourers and harvesters at their work.’ 
-  Joseph Canteloube

Joseph Canteloube was born in the Auvergne in 1879, in the town of Annonay, and first encountered the local dances and folksongs as a boy, on long walks through the countryside with his father. He was so attached to the region that he had his first six years of composition lessons by correspondence, rather than moving to Paris.

Canteloube believed passionately in the power of folk music to renew and enrich classical music. Artists, he said, should value feeling above thinking, and should have a real love for the soil of their own land.

Canteloube started writing his Songs of the Auvergne on a train travelling through the southern French countryside in 1923, and ultimately wrote five books of Songs of the Auvergne, over a period of more than 30 years. The tunes are traditional melodies, and the words are in the local language, Occitan. But rather than trying to represent folk performances of the music, Canteloube uses the orchestral accompaniments to capture in music the atmosphere of the time and place in which the songs were traditionally sung.

- - - - -



  1. Quand z’eyro petitoune
  2. Postouro, sé tu m’aymo
  3. N’aï pas ïèu dè mio
  4. Interlude
  5. Lo calhé
  6. Baïlèro
  7. Brezairola
  8. Oï ayaï
  9. La delaïssádo
  10. Passo pel prat
  11. Lou diziou bé
  12. L’aïo dè rotso
  13. Interlude
  14. Ound’onorèn gorda?
  15. Interlude
  16. Obal din lou Limouzi
  17. Lou coucut
  18. Là-haut, sur le rocher
  19. Jou l’pount d’o Mirabel
  20. La pastoura als camps
  21. Lo fïolairé
  22. Pastourelle
  23. Lou boussu
  24. Uno jionto postouro
  25. Malurous qu’o uno fenno

Sara Macliver soprano
Queensland Symphony Orchestra
Brett Kelly conductor

- - - - -