Prokofiev for Two (CD)

Deutsche Grammophon
Current Stock:
Martha Argerich, Sergei Babayan

Pianists Martha Argerich and Sergei Babayan present two stunning selections from Prokofiev’s music for stage and screen in magnificent two-piano transcriptions by Babayan.

The album features Babayan’s twelve-movement transcription of numbers from the ballet Romeo and Juliet and his seven-movement suite transcribed from the Russian composer’s incidental music for Hamlet and Eugene Onegin, film score for The Queen of Spades and opera War and Peace.

These new Prokofiev transcriptions are both dedicated to Martha Argerich. “This project happened because of my love for Prokofiev, my love for Martha and my love for the ballet Romeo and Juliet,” reflects Babayan.

The sense of mutual inspiration felt by these kindred spirits, palpable in their live performances together, is now captured for posterity in these recordings.

Track Listing

Romeo and Juliet, Op. 64 - excerpts
1. Prologue 
2. Dance Of The Knights
3. Morning Dance 
4. Quarrel 
5. Gavotte 
6. Juliet As A Young Girl - The Nurse Delivers Juliet's Letter To Romeo 
7. Folk Dance
8. Dance With Mandolines
9. Morning Serenade
10. Dance Of Five Couples
11. Romeo And Juliet Before Departure 
12. Death Of Tybalt 

Hamlet, incidental music, Op. 77

Eugene Onegin, incidental music, Op. 71

The Queen of Spades, Op. 70

Pushkin Waltzes (2), Op. 120

War and Peace, Op. 91